Following the latest information and guidance issued by the UK government, Datateam Business Media has confirmed that this year’s HVR Awards will not be hosted in its traditional format. Instead, the organiser is excited to reveal the plans to host the annual celebration of industry excellence on a digital platform on Thursday 15 October – and are delighted to announce the incredible products and companies that are in the running to win!

Event manager Sharon Holloway comments: “The HVR Awards has been championing excellence in the heating and ventilating industry for over a decade and, while we are all facing unprecedented challenges, we believe it is more important than ever to continue our longstanding tradition of recognising the very best products, businesses and individuals in the business.

“With the latest information from the government, the possibility of hosting hundreds of industry professionals in October remains uncertain so we have made the difficult decision to forgo a physical event in favour of a virtual experience for 2020. While we are of course disappointed to not host our usual evening of celebration, the safety and wellbeing of everyone involved is our number one priority and we are excited to be able to invite even more of you to be a part of the HVR Awards.”

The first ever virtual HVR Awards ceremony will take place on the dedicated awards website on Thursday 15 October. The event will be free to attend and no pre-registration will be required; professionals that want to join in the celebrations simply need to log on to the HVR Awards website, sit back and enjoy the show!

Introducing the shortlist

After receiving a number of incredible entries and nominations, those that will be in the running to win an accolade at the first virtual HVR Awards ceremony can now be revealed.

To view the full list of finalists, click here.

Meet the judges

While the shortlist is now public, the decisions are not yet set in stone. A panel of judges, who collectively boast an impressive history of expertise and experience in the HVAC sector, will review each entry to determine the rightful winners in each category.

This year’s judging panel is made up of the following industry figures:

Lisa-Jayne Cooke, sales and applications engineer with JE Hall
Lisa-Jayne has over 20 years’ experience in the refrigeration, air conditioning and process cooling industries. She is an active member of the Women in Engineering Society (WES) and a trustee of the IOR, championing women in her field. She was named in WES’s Women in Engineering Top 50 for 2019.

• Martyn Cooper, commercial manager, FETA
Martyn joined FETA in May 2015 after a 37-year career in the plastics and chemical industries. Martyn manages the Heat Pump Association, and several groups in the refrigeration, HEVAC and chimney associations across FETA.

• Ross Anderson, director of ICOM
In his role as director of ICOM, Ross represents the commercial and industrial heating manufacturers in discussions on policy and standards with various government departments and leading Institutions.

• Duncan Sibbald, head of certification, BESA
Duncan has decades of experience running ventilation firms and been instrumental in the development of BESA’s Vent Hygiene Elite scheme.

• Stewart Clements, director of the HHIC
Stewart has been involved with the heating and plumbing industry for 30 years. As director of the HHIC, he takes responsibility for representing the whole of the domestic heating market in the UK. The HHIC informs members on relevant policy issues and developments and responds to consultations on their behalf.

• TJ Duncan-Moir, management consultant with Business Glu
With 30 years of hands on manufacturing and construction experience TJ now operates her own consultancy business, Business Glu, helping other businesses succeed. Having won many awards, herself including Business Woman of the Year, TJ believes recognition from awards is one of the best ways of showcasing capabilities and demonstrating a portfolio of qualities maintained.

Don’t forget – in the Wholesaler/Distributor of the Year category, YOU are the judge – so be sure to cast your vote before Friday 18 September.

More information, including full timings of the live stream, will be announced in due course.